I did not go out of my way to create anything new these two weeks, I’ll admit. I did manage to book a block of hotel rooms for the wedding. But that’ beside the point, really.

I helped cook Christmas and New Years feasts tho. We made fewer entrees than usual for Christmas, and my mother was convinced that it had been less work bc I helped her more this year. Which may be true, but it was also bc we just did less in general. My brother and I usually concoct some Mark Bittman side-dish together, but didn’t get around to it this year (we had lunch instead of supper, so had less time to prep). I baked an apple pie and a cocoa-cheesecake. I could say the cheesecake was new, but really it’s just a variation of our standard 1-of-e/thing cheesecake: 1 block of cream cheese, 1c sour cream, 1 egg, 1c sugar, and whatever flavoring you feel like, in a pie shell for abt 1hr at 350F. easy peasy.

anyway, THE NEW EXPERIENCE of my life at this moment, was introducing the betrothed to the parents over New Years wkend.

Yes, he’s my betrothed and hadn’t met my parents. So that was new, and interesting. A delicious time was had by all. We had a NYE party and a dozen of our family friends got to meet him too. It was lovely.

I resolve to start crafting again this upcoming week.

I apologize for the holiday hiatus/post-craft fair burnout/being consumed with wedding planning. I’ll admit that I’m not a very Tis-the-Season kinda person (although my family had a wonderful Christmas this year, a new cherished memory, and I was delighted to be able to spend New Years with my family for the first time since college), so I’m glad to be getting back on with “real life.” Although I did not miss the commuter crowds that had all gone on vacation for the last three weeks.

